APPOINTMENT — Mayor-elect Tyler Moore appoints a 30-person advisory committee to help provide guidance.

A 30-person advisory committee will help provide guidance to Mayor-elect Tyler Moore.

The committee will work with the previously-announced transition team to offer “both short-term and long-term guidance on Moore’s administration policies,” according to a release from the Moore campaign. The committee included a smattering of religious leaders, elected officials, city employees, and other figures known within the community.

“The members of this committee were selected to represent a cross-section of the Kokomo community. They were chosen to provide their input, expertise, and perspective on key issues affecting people throughout our city,” said Moore. “Since day one of my campaign, I have pledged that I intend to lead Kokomo as one, all-inclusive community. This advisory committee will help provide me and my administration with insight into different facets of our community and our workforce. Likewise, I will always welcome and encourage input from any and all of the residents of our great city.”

Members of the committee include:

Rich Boruff

Boruff is the former president of United Auto Workers Local 685.

Polly Bray

Bray is a longtime city employee and presently holds the position of executive administrator. She is the wife of Howard County Commissioner Brad Bray.

Bill Carter

Carter is the president of the Retired Police and Firefighters Association.

Alex Clark

Clark gained notoriety recently after an unsuccessful bid at an at-large seat on the Kokomo Common Council. The Republican went on to work with the Moore campaign during the run-up to the General Election. He is the owner of Maverick Security Solutions.

Dan Fawcett

Fawcett is the owner of Dan Fawcett Construction Company.

Susan Sciame-Giesecke

Sciame-Giesecke is the chancellor of Indiana University Kokomo. Under her leadership, the local university has expanded, bringing in record student enrollment. The campus itself has also expanded, with a groundbreaking held last year for a Student Activities and Events Center while a focus has been placed on drawing in students from outside the area with the construction of privately-funded student housing near the campus.

Bob Hingst

Hingst is the secretary/treasurer of the family-owned Mid America Beverage.

Dr. Martha Hoshaw

Hoshaw is a family practitioner with an office in Russiaville.

Celestine Johnson

Johnson works as the executive director of human resources for Ivy Tech Kokomo.

Jennifer Jordan

Jordan serves as the city of Kokomo’s director of development. She has overseen a plethora of development projects undertaken by the city, including most recently that of Championship Park.

Rev. Robert Lee

Lee is a Democrat holding the position of Center Township Trustee. He was first elected to the office in 2015, and he also serves as the pastor of Second Missionary Baptist Church.

Dean McCurdy

McCurdy is the chancellor of Ivy Tech Kokomo. Under his leadership the local university has undergone sizable renovations, with the focus of transforming and modernizing the local campus.

Dick Moore

Moore is the mayor-elect’s father and the president of Moore Title and Escrow in Kokomo.

Judge Lynn Murray

Murray, a Democrat, serves as the judge of Howard Circuit Court. She was first elected to the position in 1995. A multitude of specialty courts are under Murray’s purview, and she helped launch the first juvenile drug court in the nation.

John O’Donnell

O’Donnell is the former owner of Kokomo Opalescent Glass, and he is also involved in real estate.

Pastor Romon Oglesby

Oglesby is the pastor of Great Faith Christian Center in Kokomo.

Amy Pate

Pate is the executive vice president of the Realtors Association of Central Indiana

Pastor Charlie Riley

Riley is the pastor of Abundant Life Church in Kokomo. He voiced strong opposition to Kokomo’s updating of the civil rights ordinance in 2016.

Steve Rogers

Rogers formerly served as the Howard County Sheriff. He served for two terms in the role before retiring at the end of 2018. He served in local law enforcement for 48 years.

Scott Rykman

Rykman is a firefighter with the Kokomo Fire Department.

Major Brian Seldon

Seldon serves with the Kokomo Police Department and works as one of the department’s public information officers.

Trish Severns

Severns is the CEO of the Kokomo Family YMCA. She was appointed to the position in early 2019, and she is the first woman to fill the role.

Charlie Sparks

Sparks is the president and CEO of the Greater Kokomo Economic Development Alliance. He has served in the role since 2014 and has played a significant role in preparations for the downtown hotel conference center project.

Chris Smith

Smith is the superintendent of Taylor Community Schools.

Rick Smith

Smith is the owner of Smith Financial.

Carey Stranahan

Stranahan is the city engineer for Kokomo. He is a longtime employee of the city and has overseen many of the projects undertaken by city government.

Kevin Summers

Summers most recently launched an unsuccessful bid for mayor as a Democratic candidate. He was defeated in the primaries by Abbie Smith. Prior to that, he served on the Kokomo Police Department and retired in late 2018 just after announcing he would seek the mayor’s office. He served on the department for 21 years. After a contentious primary season, Summers transitioned to supporting Moore during the General Election. He also faced a Professional Standards Investigation just before his retirement.

Dave Trine

Trine is a former Kokomo Police Department officer and Howard County Commissioner. Trine left the department in early 2015 after an internal affairs investigation conducted the year prior showed he lied about his residency in order to acquire additional insurance benefits. The city allowed him to retire with benefits rather than be fired. He also stirred controversy as a tax agent for the Indiana Department of Revenue, with local business owners claiming in 2015 he was using his position to bully restaurants that were considered competition to his own. After stories ran in the Kokomo Perspective concerning the matter, he resigned his position with the IDOR.

Mike Wyant

Wyant was a longtime Democratic member of the Kokomo Common Council, representing the First District. He lost his reelection bid in this year’s General Election. He also is known for operating We Care Park for the past 25 years.

Paul Wyman

Wyman is president of the Board of Howard County Commissioners. He has long served alongside Moore in that role.