OUTSTANDING SERVICE — These students were honored for their service as the first officers of the Ivy Tech Kokomo chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success: (left-right) Zachary Hutcheson, Harold (Lee) Stout II, Jessica Hamilton, Laurie Dowell, Jossie Helmerick, David Akers, and Corynne Menard.

KOKOMO, Ind. — Seventy-six students at Ivy Tech Community College have been inducted as the first members of a new chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) for the College’s Kokomo Service Area.

Ivy Tech Kokomo became the fourth campus in Ivy Tech’s statewide system to bring the NSLS opportunity to its students, joining Ivy Tech campuses at Columbus, Indianapolis, and South Bend. NSLS, founded in 2001, has become the largest leadership-based honor society in the United States and operates on the mission of “Building leaders who make a better world.”

To be inducted as a member of NSLS, students must complete a leadership certification that includes an orientation, a Leadership Training Day, at least three speaker broadcasts, and at least three Success Networking Team (SNT) meetings.

NSLS also offers two additional certifications. Ivy Tech Kokomo students Laurie Dowell and Kori Wood both completed the Advanced Leadership Certification and Dowell went on to complete the Executive Leadership Certification.

Students who served as chapter leaders for 2018-2019 included Jessica Hamilton, president; Laurie Dowell, vice president; Corynne Menard, secretary; Lee Stout, snt coordinator; and David Akers and Zachary Hutcheson, chairs. Officers elected for the 2019-2020 school year include Corynne Menard, president; Zachary Hutcheson, vice president; Jossie Helmerick, secretary; Lee Stout.

“With more than 600 chapters and more than 950,000 members nationwide, NSLS offers great training and networking opportunities,” said Dani McQuaide, director of Student Life for Ivy Tech Kokomo and the new chapter’s advisor. “NSLS members have access to personal success coaching, partner discounts, an online job bank, and a number of scholarships and awards. We are glad to provide another way students can gain great experience and boost their resumes.

Students inducted as the first members of Ivy Tech Kokomo’s NSLS chapter include:


Tabitha Schoenstein


Mandi Altman

Bunker Hill

Sydne Leary


Victoria Ellis


Nova Brygger


Kristy Walsh


Charles Koeppen


Laurie Dowell


David Akers

Andre Askew

Aubry Bailey

Sensuous Balfour Alexander

Kayla Bullock

Elizabeth Collins

Tiffany DeWitt

Kasandra Dorsey

Cierra Fisher

Erica Gray

Jessica Hamilton

Noah Hamrick

Lora Hawkins

Zachary Hutcheson

Drew Jameson

Candace Jarvis

Shayla Killebrew

Corynne Menard

Jshanien Minor

Nathan Napier

Sarah Napier

Jessica Nester

David Reynolds

Shaun Sefton

Tyler Shirey

Monica Slonaker

Harold Stout II

Ashley Swing

Brianna Swing

Dale Swingley

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, the world needs trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by making a contribution.

Antonio Viera

Desmon Williams

Mercedes Wilson

Kori Wood


Carrie Adams

David Eccles


Tiffany Tyler


Rochelle Davila

Andrea DeJesus

Tamara Derrick

Adam Goodman

Brady Hammond

Paul Hoff

Jennifer Lindsey

Silvia McVay

Hairo Ortega

Jamie Pay

Sofia Nicole Pedersen Kertesz

Linda Sebastian

Lisa Tidrick


Mercedes Conrad


Faith Rankin

North Judson

Jonathan Kozak


Karalee Haynes

Jeremiah Kline

Tricia Lease

Tyler Worl

Dinah Wray


Derek Larimore

Shelby Larimore

Sherry Welch


Nick Barnard

Noelle Heaton

Cole Henderson

Jared Hickman


Jason Darland

Nathaniel Pownell


Jossie Helmerick

Ivy Tech Community College serves communities across Indiana, providing world-class education and driving economic transformation. It is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering high-value degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its communities, along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Ivy Tech Community College Kokomo Service Area serves Cass, Fulton, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties, including the communities of Kokomo, Logansport, Peru, Rochester, and Tipton.

Linda Ferries | media relations coordinator | Marketing & Communications | 765-252-5509 | lferries@ivytech.edu

Ivy Tech Community College | Kokomo | Logansport | Peru | Rochester | Tipton | Changing lives. Making Indiana great.